Getting Certified

There are 5 broad steps to attaining a PMI certification.


Fulfill Eligibility Criteria


All PMI certifications require you to meet domain experience levels, educational levels or both before you apply. You will need to provide PMI Global with the details of this experience and/or education, so it’s best to gather and prepare this information before you open the application.

To find out the eligibility requirements, consult the handbook for the certification that interests you. Each one has unique eligibility criteria.


Complete Application


Once you’ve determined you meet the eligibility criteria, it’s time to apply. Collect the following information and then use our online certification system to guide you through the process.
     - Contact information
     - Education attained
     - Domain experience
     - Domain education


Application Review


Once PMI Global receives your application, they will verify that you meet the eligibility criteria and that your experience and/or education is valid and consistent with the guidelines stated in the certification handbook.

Typically the application review period will take 5–10 days, depending on the certification. Once it’s complete, PMI Global will email you to move on to the next step.




After PMI Global notifies you that your application is approved, it’s time to provide payment so you can move to the final stage. The fastest and easiest way to pay is through PMI Global's online certification system.

Once payment is received, PMI Global will email you an eligibility number that you’ll use to schedule your test appointment. You are eligible for one year, and you may take the exam up to three times during that year.


Schedule Test Appointment


Once you are eligible, PMI Global will e-mail you exam scheduling instructions with your eligibility code, which you will need when scheduling your exam appointment.

You can schedule your exam appointment online or by telephone. Full details can be found in the certification handbook and within the examination scheduling instructions.

Effective July 1, 2019, tests will be conducted Pearson Vue on behalf of PMI Global.